top of page

Chakras, Emotions and Sexual Balance

Updated: Aug 2, 2021

The chakras are wheels of subtle energy located along the spine. Different systems differ in just how many chakras we have, but the most commonly used system says we have seven major chakras and 144 minor chakras.

Chakras help us understand our emotions and in turn understand ourselves. True healing recognizes that we are multi-dimensional beings, with the body influencing the mind and vice


Root Chakra

Serves as our foundation to evolve and build our personality.  Our link to the physical world, earth, our roots, “being” grounded,  our survival instincts

Sacral Chakra

The center for sexual energy, creativity and pure emotions.  Balances free giving and receiving of feelings and emotions.

Solar Plexus Chakra

Where the personality is formed.  Relates to our feelings of being integrated into the melting pot of spiritual and earthy aspects.  This is our gut instinct chakra

Heart Chakra

Relates to our center of love, spirituality, humanity and healing.  Our heart chakra is the neutralizing center of all feelings and emotions.

Throat Chakra

Relates to expressing our truth, communicating our needs and taking responsibility for decision making.  Also connects to our abilities to manifest our creativity

Third Eye Chakra

Relates to our inner vision, unity, perspective and divine spiritual wisdom, understanding and intuition.

Crown Chakra

Connects us to an awareness of Oneness with source, integration of whole, living in the now, meaning, devotion.  A conscious alignment of knowledge beyond words or intellect

Illness often comes from not dealing with our emotions properly. This is literally when the body is in “dis-ease.” That’s why you hear about people making miraculous recoveries when they watch funny movies, say positive affirmations, or visualize good health. Sometimes it takes these dire situations to realize the importance of implementing these practices. Therefore, it’s crucial to be aware of how we are handling our challenges. As a result, our health – believe it or not – depends on it. Suppressed emotions need to be dealt with because it’s impossible to outsmart the body’s natural intelligence!

Hinduism dictates that ‘kundalini‘ is a Serpent Goddess who lies dormant at the base of our spine, coiled, waiting for us to unlock her energy through a combination of meditation, yoga, and selfless acts of love. It is a female force, connected with the Mother Earth, and in some eastern traditions is revered as a Goddess. Whether we are aware of this power or not – whether we believe in it or not – we are completely dependent upon it. Everything we do, we are only able to do thanks to kundalini, we are here on Earth is to learn to control this power, and raise it, in its entirety, up the spine. As it rises, it activates the chakras, explained briefly above.

However, the ascension process isn’t predictable. Kundalini can move at its own rate and cause a variety of “symptoms” along the way, including:


aches and pains

intense (sometimes unpredictable) emotional release

excited, uncontrollable vocalization

sensations of heat and burning from within

These manifestations are simply the body’s way of purging all the energetic “junk” that it has collected over the years.

When Kundalini energy reaches the crown chakra, also known as the Sahasrara chakra — home of masculine energy (Shiva) and pure consciousness — the energy circuit is complete. It is the unification of the Kundalini Shakti and Shiva energies that initiates the union of one’s consciousness with that of the Divine — achieving Enlightenment.

Once you accept how you feel, you can accept who you are. A foundational piece of self-love is accepting how you feel.








The Sacral Chakra is about so much more than sex… it’s about pleasure; and one of its main tasks involves accessing pleasure, primarily through the senses; but

also through adventure, excitement, and fun. Now, sex can (and should) bring about sensory pleasure. It can (and should) involve adventure, excitement, and fun.


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page